Day 124. 1800 miles/3000 km!Today we climbed our first real mountain of the Whites NH, Mt Moosilauke (4802 ft).

A tough 2+ hour climb up after 6 miles over a couple of other 'bumps'. The view was spectacular and despite the haze we could see Mt Washington in the distance.

It was also another milestone. We made our first serious mistake and took an incorrect trail and ended up on the wrong side of the mountain from where Greg (Arlene's husband ) was waiting for us at the point where the AT crosses NH112.

Arriving at the far side of a footbridge over a stream I was confused by the signage and asked a couple behind me where the 112 was. They said I was near the lodge and 118 and had no idea where the 112 was. Dismayed I realized that I was a serious climb of 3 hours away from where I should be, they kindly offered to drive me to the rendezvous point about 30 minutes away.

I was worried that Arlene, who could not possibly have made the same mistake, would arrive at the meeting point and wonder where I was since I was ahead. My 'trail magic' ride delivered me and Greg was waiting but no Arlene. Which meant that she too had taken the wrong trail.

After some deliberation Greg decided to drive over to the place I had come out near a lodge and I would stay at the rendezvous place incase she arrived. Not 30 seconds later she arrives in a car with a young people we met at the top, who had parked on the far side of the mountain near the lodge and offered to drive her over.

What could have been a nasty situation resolved itself through the kindness of others. We have been fortunate to have experienced so much generosity from strangers on the trail. Thank you we are so grateful.

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Euan Swan (Monday, 13 July 2015 14:03)

    Good to learn that you all found each other!!