May 3 Day 55 - Lamberts Meadow via  McAfee Knob - MILE 718.7

You will have to forgive my enthusiasm for the spring flowers. For the gardeners among you I am certain you will be able to understand.


 

It is hot and the climb to the top of McAfee Knob it arduous. Luckily I finally have some phone connectivity so in turn call my daughters, husband and brother to catch up on what is going on in their lives, pass the time and distract me from the climb. It works. Before I know it I am at the look out. Since it is the weekend there are many day hikers here and it is quite busy. But the view is remarkable. We can see our 4 hour hike ahead of us along a ridge and over a mountain nearly opposite our present location. It is difficult to leave this place.

One of the most photographed spots on the AT is McAfees Knob. After about 3 hours of climbing you come to this incredible rock cliff that provides a vista of the mountains and valleys that is unsurpassed. We climb high once again in support of Alzheimers. 

Write a comment

Comments: 2