May 2 Day 54 - 4 Pines Hostel - MILE 702.1

Every night I feel the Forest Flower Fairies are out spreading their magic along the trail. The azaleas are finally blooming in their variety of pinks and intricate beauty, the dogwoods are like candles in the forest.And along the edges of the path I marvel at the horticultural expertise of the Flower Fairies, it seems they know exactly where each flower and plant will thrive and generously seed in those areas. The first pick lady slippers I see take my breath away they are so incredible. Big and bold in stature and color.

I am standing for a moment at an unpretencious memorial to Audie Leon Murphy, June 20, 1924 - May 28, 1971. Audie was America's most decorated veteran of WWII earning 24 decorations. I am quite overwhelmed by the injustice of his death in an airplane crash near this spot after all the perils he survived during the war.

 

I happened upon my number 4 and 5 snakes. The first a beautiful guarder lying at the side of the path watching me. He poses perfectly for the photo. Then 10 steps on I nearly step on a 4 foot long black rat snake which are very common. He doesn't stick around and I can barely catch him in the photo. I think it is incredible that I caught two snakes in pictures within 10 feet of each other. I am happy that they are present here in their world. 

 

There is little water on the trail today so we carry with us what we need. It is hot and the  trail is difficult in places with very steep rocky descents. I inadvertently drop my water bottle while pulling it out of my pack and stand watching in dismay as it rolls down the very steep hill out of sight. I now have about 6mi/10km tho walk with no water. I am finally approaching the road that the hostel is on and must walk another half mile along it. I am really tired and terribly thirsty. I know I can make it but it is a huge effort and I'm glad when I see some familiar hiker faces and the kind man who runs the 4 Pine Hostel. Amazing how a shower and a couple of liters of water can bring you back to life! We have passed the 700 mile mark today. 

4 Pines Hostel. A three car garage converted to hostel by a wonderful man who loves to support thru-hikers; complete with shower, fridge, microwave between the tools and a fully stocked cooler with soft drinks. As well he provides rides to and from trail heads and to the local grocery store. He accepts payment by donation only. Amazing people along the AT.

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Susan (Friday, 15 May 2015 13:33)

    Hmmm, if only you'd had a Camelbak