May 1 Day 53 - Niday Shelter - MILE 685.3

It is May 1 and again we are walking on the trail and marveling at the arrival of spring. Fascinating. The views from the top of the ridge are spectacular showing the mountain sides carved by receding glaciers as if at the hand of a gifted artist. As far as we can see there are mountains and there are waking up.

The colors of spring amplified by a light rain help to bring vibrance to replace the dull colors of winter. We are amazed by the Keffer Oak, over 300 years old, standing strong and tall, it's circumference over 18 feet and branches the size of full grown trees. This is the biggest tree in the southern Appalachian, no one knows why it was never cut. I can't help but think of the history that has passed beneath its limbs. 

 

The rain is more intense now and the objective is the shelter as quickly as possible. Following my rain mishap of a couple of weeks ago (where I nearly perished from hypothermia). I have "McGyvered" a mobile tent to cover me and my backpack while I'm walking from a single ground sheet, while allowing plenty of opportunity for ventilation. Duck tape features prominently in this solution. It works very well except when the wind is directly in front, then I need to wrap it tightly around myself defeating the need for ventilation. It is slow going managing the mobile tent and navigating the rock and root strewn path but I finally arrive at the shelter about 5pm only to find it completely full, mostly with a group of young women weekenders who are out for the first time and seem to have more food than equipment with them and clearly don't grasp the concept of keeping the shelter dry for sleeping. They are very pleasant and offer to move into their tents so we thru-hiker's could use the shelter. No one made a single argue to this proposal. It did stop raining and we got a fire going to dry speaking boots and clothing and a variety of roasting type sticks and walking poles. The trick is NOT to burn your socks. This might sound obvious but I am astounded at the number of hikers we have met who have managed to do just this and are walking with gaping holes in their socks. I am very attentive to my only socks hanging precariously above the flames. 

Write a comment

Comments: 0