Apr 14 - Eveready Observation 6 & 7

6.  Trail magic comes in many forms. 3 days ago we climbed Roan Mountain. It took all morning. We had hoped there would be trail majic (when people either leave a cooler of drinks or food or actually are there passing out food, etc for thru hikers coz you cannot carry enough food and drink in your pack to offset the calories you are burning - we call these kind hearts, trail angels) at the top but no such luck, and again at the next gap one hour later. Resigned we climbed 3 balds (grassed mountain tops) and on the other side as we were descending, I met an angel in the form of a chubby 8 year old. He was one of 8ish boy scout group out for a Sunday hike. He asked me if I had been hiking long, to which I responded: "yes, all the way from Springer Mountain, Georgia", to which he exclaimed: "Awesome" and then I told him I was thru hiking all the way to Maine, he repeated the praise, gave me a high 5 and told me I was doing a "good job". How cool is that! He lifted my spirits and for 30 min my feet did not hurt!

2 days ago, we left early to complete 10 miles before noon as a friend from Raleigh, North Carolina was meeting up with us to have lunch. We were to meet at a specific road that we were to cross to continue the AT. We left at 8 am and climbed for a good hour in gale force winds that kept pushing us with pack sacs on our backs off the trail. It was brutal and cold. When I got to the rendezvous point, there was a group of rangers/older scouts listening to their troop leader. As I passed by, the leader asked me if I was thru hiking, which I confirmed and he promptly turned to the 15 or so group and lead a " hip hip hoorah" exclamation directed to me. Made me smile

7.  Why am I doing this? It was a dream and I am blessed that I am able to do this despite being 60! This was reinforced when I bought travel insurance and answered "no" to all the questions they ask when assessing you as a risk for coverage. It really hit me how blessed I was.

My good fortune and health is also the reason I am doing this "Walk to Remember" campaign to help the Alzheimer Society. I would normally be campaigning for cancer research as many of my immediate family and close friends died or suffered tremendously due to cancer, however, research in finding the cause of dementia/Alzheimer is flagging behind and with the baby boom bubble and the fact that close to 70 % of the afflicted are women, I was convinced to fundraise for this cause.

Yesterday, Anda and I with our too heavy packs (at least for me) hiked 18.7 miles to meet up with her husband who will be slack packing us (that is when you leave all the heavy gear and only bring a day pack - so you do the mileage without the stress on your feet and knees) for the next days so we can get to Damascus Virginia as per schedule. We have hiked 418.5 miles to date.

All of this, to ask if you plan to donate, to do so soon as it motivates us greatly. The Society take care of the collection of donations and issuance of tax receipts. Thx

Write a comment

Comments: 0