Mar 14 - Day 6 - Cheese Factory to Addis Gap - 7.6m/12.2km - MILE 67.1

This is starting to sound like a broken record. I am lying in my tent in the dark before 7 am. I can't remember when I have been out in such torrential rain. I am stilling lying here at 9 because it is not stopping. I'm trying to think what to do. It's not possible to go out, thankfully we are dehydrated enough that we don't pee during the night, not a good thing but something I am feeling grateful for at the moment.


I finally think of turning on my phone to see if there is connectivity. Someone out there in the world should know how wet and miserable we are feeling. There is a text message from Arlene. She is in her tent and we are about 20 feet apart but you can't shout to be heard over the pounding of the rain. She says lets wait a bit, I'm thinking let's wait until tomorrow. It is now after 10 and Arlene is at my tent saying she is packing up. It has unbelievably stopped raining and is only drizzling. We see what a beautiful spot we are in. It is a rhododendron forest. A bit eerie with mist but very pretty. I have to say it again, everything is wet. Our packs are at least 5 lbs heavier because of that. We have our porridge and coffee which helps to lift our soggy spirits.


We are on the side of Tray Mountain and heading to the top and over. Thankfully the rain has stopped. Instantly I feel happier. I see a tiny glimmer of blue sky and take a photo of it. It is gone in 5 minutes. It is perfect hiking weather, overcast, cool breezy and the rain has cleared the air.


It is now midafternoon, getting chilly because a couple of long uphill climbs. My knees are hurting, tomorrow I will try the braces Arlene has been wearing the past few days. The sky is filling with ominous clouds again, and we arrive at Addis Gap where our friends Apogee and Plyro are planning to camp. This is 3m short of our goal but I am feeling really tired, convinced my pack is now probably closer to 45 rather than 35 lbs. We decide that we will stay as well, our friends walk down the .5m trail twice to get water. We are so grateful.

Our milestone today, we passed the 100km distance!!! Sleep will not be not difficult tonight.

Write a comment

Comments: 0